Read Any Good Books Lately?

This week has kind of been a wash for me. I don’t know what I’ve got, but the combination of a head cold, unexplained exhaustion (I slept a blissful 12 hours last night, and still took a little nap this afternoon. I know. I’m lame.), and a slight case of the blahs has put me in the mood to do… nothing. Some knitting on the Koigu socks was done during the week at lunchtime. A tiny bit of spinning was done in the evenings, mainly at the behest of Baby A.K., who just loves to watch, and try to help, me spin. But my head hasn’t been in it. I think when I feel like this, I mostly enjoy…

Reading. So what’s everyone reading these days (it doesn’t have to be craft-related)? I’ve started reading that book I promised myself I’d order last week: Spinning in the Old Way, by Priscilla A. Gibson-Roberts. So far, I really really like it – it’s well-written, has great illustrations, and best of all, concentrates on just spinning with a high-whorl spindle, and doesn’t go off talking about wheels, making me feel like OH MY GOD I HAVE TO GET A WHEEL RIGHT NOW.

I think I’ll go make myself and Husband a cuppa tea, and sit back with my book until either I fall asleep on the couch, or this headache I’m fighting forces my eyeballs to shut down for the evening…

8 Comments

Filed under Knitting

8 responses to “Read Any Good Books Lately?

  1. Deb S.

    I am currently reading The Cold Moon by Jeffery Deaver. It is in his series with Lincoln Rhyme. Mystery genre.

    I’ve been feeling kinda of “blah” myself but not because I’m fighting any illness unless you can count being totally swamped at work. I’ve been working late and weekends trying to keep my head above water so haven’t done any quilting lately. Been feeling very stressed because ‘ya know, you have to take of the home life too (cooking, cleaning, laundry). Ah well, I’m sure it will pass … I just hope it is soon!!!

  2. Cris

    Dunno, Marni … if they let you do it, I think it could be the right kind of crazy! (Speaks the one who has neither a blog, NOR has attended Sheep to Shawl in past years — so much for my expertise) If there’s space, if the contestants would be willing to chat amidst their work, if the Farm Show organizing-type people don’t have a fit … interesting idea regardless.

    Still under the weather, huh? Hope it moves off really soon!

  3. Kathleen Taylor

    I would love to watch a sheep to shawl competion live. I think it’s a great idea!

  4. Cris

    Yahoo for Mr. AK and the yarn! So how is it going?

  5. Deb S.

    It is great to hear that Mr. A.K. gave knitting a whirl. You’ll have to let us know if he sticks with it.

    And good luck with the Farm Show deal. I’m just down the road so I may be able to swing by after work to check things out.

    I may have to give some thought about continuing with hand piecing. I could leave that at work and do some piecing after eating lunch and before going back to the grind. Hhmmm, food for thought …

  6. Lori Lynn

    D-d-d-d-d-dora! D-d-d-d-d-dora! Dora Dora Dora the Explorer!

  7. Cris

    This is the reason I usually way overbuy yarn for projects, especially big projects; I worry about running out of yarn from the very beginning, so I just try to fend it off by having plenty of extra yarn. This is the primary reason I have stash yarn — it’s all leftovers from past projects. (Great for making up the occasional scrap blanket; there’s a log-cabin throw somewhere in my future.)

    Congrats to Sock Knitter! In the last few days, I’ve turned the heel on my first top-down sock (I’ve done a few pairs of toe-up socks with short-row heels and toes, which are very different.) The short-row part at the heel is a bit surreal, but once I got through the heel and into the gusset decreases, the logic of the whole thing became pretty clear. Yay for socks!

    p.s. Any news about the Farm Show yet?

  8. Deb S.

    I’m a process quilter. While there are parts I don’t enjoy quite as much as others, I relish in all aspects of the process. I love picking the fabrics and finding that “just so right” pattern to go with the fabrics. Cutting isn’t my favorite but is a “must do” in order to start sewing. I love when I start putting the blocks together because it is fun to see the shapes, shadows, and movement start to form by the colors that I picked. And of course doing the binding is wonderful because it means I’m almost done and ready to move onto the next project.

    Hhhmm, is one better then the other? I don’t think either is better. What matters is what works for you. Own it baby!

Leave a Reply

