Closing Ceremonies.

Today was the final day of the 2009 PA Farm Show.  I didn’t head over there today, nor did I catch any footage of the closing ceremonies.  I commemorated the event at home, watching movies with my daughter.  I always feel kind of sad when Farm Show Week is over, and this one is the best I’ve been to so far.  Well, there’s always next year to look forward to.  With that in mind, I’ll give you one more picture from the Sheep To Shawl contest:  

That's me in the corner.  That's me in the spotlight...

That's me in the corner. That's me in the spotlight...

Libby Beiler, weaver for Team Time Warp, sent this picture to me today, which was taken by her husband just before the shearing began (if I’m not mistaken).  From left to right:  Christine Flanagan (weaver for Team Two Rams, Two Lambs, Ewe & Me), yarnyMarni, Carl Geissinger (Time Warp‘s shearer) holding Eva the Sheep, Libby Beiler (weaver), and Jeff Johnstonbaugh (carder).  It’s the only picture taken of the day with me in it!  Many thanks to Libby for sending this to me.

Now I’ll segue back into my yarn habit with a story…

My daughter has ballet lessons every Saturday morning, which is very exciting for both of us.  She gets to leap and sashay and plie with lots of adorable little ballerinas, and I get 45 minutes of knitting to look forward to.  Today, I hadn’t even completed one round on my 3rd pair of fingerless mitts (these are for Daughter’s babysitter, who’s pretty much part of the family now) when one of the other moms started asking me about it.  She said she had learned to knit long ago but “probably couldn’t remember anything now.”  I pulled out my spare needles and yarn that I keep in my bag for just such occasions and asked, “Wanna give it a try?”  She was off and running in less than 5 minutes of coaching – she may even have a scarf project ready to start by next week, which I said I’d help her with.  Then another mom came hurrying in with her daughter, late after missing the exit off I-81.  Annemarie was my scheduled knitting lesson of the morning, and as soon as her daughter was ushered into the studio, she plopped down next to me, got some needles and yarn out of her bag… and again, 5 minutes later, she was casting on and then knitting like she’d been doing this forever.  When our daughters came running out after their lesson, Annemarie was beaming.  “This is so great!  I can’t wait until next week!”

Neither can I!

Leave a comment

Filed under 2009 PA Farm Show, Knitting

Leave a Reply

