Epilogue.

Wow… what a day!  Thanks to everyone who dropped over to say hi, posted comments to the blog, and sent general good vibes my way (my computer survived!).

I’m exhausted.  I can’t smell anything, but apparently I “smell like hay” (according to my daughter).  And my computer screen is coated in Farm Show dust.  But I wanted to post one… more… thing.

Here are the rules and judging criteria that was listed in the Fleece and Sheep To Shawl pamphlets.  They were very similar, so I’m combining them:

Fleece To Shawl means just that – A shawl created from the fleece (wool shorn from a sheep), spun and woven into the finished garment.  Each team is comprised of three spinners, a weaver and a carder. The judging is broken down into the following categories:

[Sheep To Shawl means just that – a shawl created from the wool shorn from a sheep, spun into yarn and woven into the finished garment.  Each team is comprised of a shearer, three spinners, a carder and a weaver.]

Shearing:  The shearer is judged on even shearing, uniformity, and lack of second cuts (shorter lengths of wool).

Fleece:  Cleanliness, condition of fleece, luster, and crimp.

Spinning:  Spinners are judged on their individual spinning, as well as how their spinning relates to the design of the shawl.  The members try to spin very evenly to produce a uniform team product.

Weaving:  The judges will look for evenness in the weaving, checking closely for errors.  The selvage edges are examined for evenness and lack of pull-in.  The finished shawl must measure at least 22 inches wide and 78 inches long or points are deducted from the score.

Design:  The design and appearance of the finished shawl counts for a large percentage of each team’s score.  Judges look for originality in design, difficulty of weave, color coordination between the warp and weft, softness and “drape-ability”, and execution of the finished fringe.

Speed:  The teams are awarded a bonus for finishing their shawl first, second, third, etc.  Speed combined with quality is the goal of each team.

OK, for real now, I’m checking out for the night.  See you tomorrow!

3 Comments

Filed under 2010 PA Farm Show

3 responses to “Epilogue.

  1. Debbie

    Hello Marni, fantastic coverage and excellent explanations of the rules. You have earned a rest! Was so motivated by the competition that I dug out my drop spindle and have been spinning a little.

    BTW, I’m a knitter and am pretty much a self-taught crocheter. Became involved with a local historic site several years ago and was drafted at the last minute to talk about 18th century textiles for history day with a local school. (Thank goodness for the internet for a crash course on the subject) Have been hooked ever since and have taken a class at the Mannings on Spinning in the Old Way and study everything I can get my hands on. Have mastered the drop spindle enough to demo that. I demo knitting and have made items following 18th century patterns.

    So glad I found you yesterday. Look forward to meeting with you here from time to time.

  2. As one of the judges of the sheep to Shawl competition, I’d like to thank you for your wonderful coverage of this event. The pictures and commentary are great. It is such a unique event and so much fun. Wasn’t it great to see all those young spinners and weavers?

  3. Kris Peters

    Wow, Marni, great reporting job! I can practically hear those sheep and smell that hay! You did an excellent job of capturing all the teams and showcasing their talents and products. Now I don’t feel badly that I didn’t get a picture of each team’s display and shawl of course I did have my hands full all day…..

Leave a Reply

