Olympic Knitting.

Well, I did end up spending a lot of time in my house after all that snow, but I did not have the day off from work.  Apparently there’s a policy out there somewhere that says if you have a company-issued laptop, and are able to, under normal circumstances, work from home, then 18″ of snow shouldn’t stop you.  I admit, I did get a lot of work done… but I really would’ve loved the free day off.

So is anyone out there entered into the Knitting Olympics or Ravelympics?  In case you haven’t heard about these, it’s kind of a competition for yarnies to challenge themselves during the 2 weeks of the Winter Olympics.  You can choose to start a new project, or even pick up a WIP that you tabled for a while, and try like mad to finish it before the Olympic Torch is extinguished during the closing ceremonies.  If I’m not mistaken, the idea for this was originally Stephanie Pearl-McPhee’s, and it received such a huge, positive response that they keep bringing it back.

So of course this all leads to my participation in the Knitting Olympics:  am I competing?  Well… no.  Not officially.  I’m not signed up anywhere, but I am still challenging myself – you can call it a “time trial” for a future Knitting Olympic event. I finished the Beagle Scarf – it’s blocked and drying now.  So I decided to go back to the Superior Lace Shawl and use it as my unofficial Knitting Olympics entry:

By far the most ambitious project I've ever attempted. Not hard, just time-consuming.

I’m challenging myself to complete at least 8 rows a day, and also get started on the 3rd skein of yarn before closing ceremonies.  If I can actually do this (even if it’s not finished), I’ll have what it takes to officially enter the Knitting Olympics next time… and win gold.

Anyone else participating, officially or not?

1 Comment

Filed under Knitting

One response to “Olympic Knitting.

  1. doctordana

    I’m not officially entered, either, because I can’t follow the rules: I “challenged” myself with two different projects: a sweater that I knit furiously in a 2-week time frame that I’m pretending was during the Games, and an easy hat during the Games themselves. I like to watch Olypmic hockey way too much to stress about knitting now!

    Your shawl is gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

