Hurricane Preparedness Tips.

If you’re addicted to social media/news/smartphones like me, you already know that today, there’s only one thing on everyone’s minds: how to prepare for Irene‘s imminent visit.  May I offer my own suggestions?

  1. Go to the supermarket and stock up on the necessities.  These include, but are not limited to:  ice cream, Oreos, potato chips, Kraft dinner, beer.  Corona is a good choice for achieving that late summer, hurricane vibe.
  2. Put some gas in the car.  Be prepared to actually have to wait to get to a pump (unbelievably, here in Central PA, there were lines at the pump.  I don’t get it.).
  3. Go to your local Borders bookstore, which is in the process of closing, and pick up whatever’s left of the knitting books for a song.  You’ll need something to read if/when you get tired of knitting.  Notice the word “if” is italicized… for extra emphasis.  ‘Cuz, y’know, it’s not likely this will occur, but stranger things have happened.  Like hurricanes in Pennsylvania.
  4. In order to wait out the storm comfortably, make absolutely sure you have what you need for long-term knitting.  Otherwise, get thee to a LYS.  The money you saved buying only junk in #1 above will be put to good use now.
  5. Get a gas generator.  In the event of a power failure, let’s face it:  no one likes to knit by candlelight.  And forget flashlights – they’re only good for finding your way to the bathroom without tripping over the cat or your child’s shoes.

I hope this was helpful.

2 Comments

Filed under Knitting, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Hurricane Preparedness Tips.

  1. Deb in PA

    Too funny (and true).

    My knitting is ready, the car is full and I have bread and peanut butter – for those dreaded power outages.

    The only thing I can’t decide is whether or not to do laundry now or wait until tomorrow. It doesn’t take much to lose power west of Harrisburg.

  2. Gwen

    I’m in Pittsfield MA. And honestly, I didn’t have to buy jack. I’m not only a knitting person, I’m a coupon person. I had stocks of food, both canned and dried, and my stove is a gas stove. I also have two enormous containers of yarn. I had no need to go to the store when i had my stash to satisfy my itch.

    Coupon people use clearance sales, sales, and coupons to store up food that keeps for long periods of time, and then they just buy fresh stuff month to month. Its great.

    My dad took my brother and I “hurricane shopping.” My brother had most of a cart worth of stuff. I only needed 3 small grocery bags of produce and a few bottles of power ade. The only canned good i was short on was pesto.

    not only did the power not go out, but I got to eat a nice big heaping helping of stir fry between knitting. /that/ is awesome. I am completely set for any disaster, including knitting supplies.

Leave a Reply

