Turning The Heel… With YOs?

Now that Hurricane Irene has come and gone, I need to focus on turning the heel on these socks.  But first… everyone ok after all that rain and wind?  Electricity back on?  We lost power for only 4½ hours this morning… PPL, you totally rock.  Really.

So, I’m working on a sock pattern that I got as a freebie on Ravelry.  The Norfolk Ramblers pattern by Emma Haigh is beautiful, a little challenging, and perfectly suited to the yarn I’m using – Alpaca with a Twist’s Socrates.  Now granted, I’m not exactly a sock-knitting expert, but the heel instructions are unlike any I’ve tried before.  Instead of slipping the first stitch to get your working yarn on the right-hand side, it says to do a YO, then purl the rest of the way across.  I’m sure that this works… but I haven’t figured out how yet.  I’ve already ripped the heel back once, I really don’t want to do that again, but it’s inevitable, I fear, because… well… why a YO????  Why?????

I hope mine look like this when I'm done.

Anyone have any ideas on this one?

 

2 Comments

Filed under Knitting

2 responses to “Turning The Heel… With YOs?

  1. Yikes! Could be a mistake in the pattern??? Maybe the yarn overs are supposed to be slip 1?

    Can you email Emma Haigh?

    (Sorry, I’m answering your question with more questions.)

Leave a Reply

