OK, I Get It Now.

No, not the heel turn with YOs on my Norfolk Ramblers socks… I’m still figuring that out.  And no, not whether I’m going to knit the Lace Jacket holding Symphony Lace single or double… actually, I haven’t picked up my needles since earlier this week. Why, you ask?

Facebook.

Stop laughing.  There’s a good reason why I’m the last person on Earth to join the madness.  It’s very simple, really:  I’m a Java developer/Web designer, and after spending 8 hours a day staring at a computer screen, the last thing I want(ed) to do was go home and… stare at a computer screen.  Also, I really valued my anonymity, since it’s such a rare attribute in a world of reality shows and social networks.  I figured if someone really wanted to find me, they would.  I mean, I’ve found plenty of people using Google and Wikipedia alone.  Takes time, but it’s not impossible.

My downfall started with Twitter.  Believe it or not, it was kind of a revelation, with all the info that was zooming at me.  It was exciting, and fun, and look!  A link!  Taking me to… yikesFacebook.  Someone’s wall… which I couldn’t see, because I didn’t have an account.  This happened so many times that finally, and with much humility, I caved and signed up.

Two days later, I’m making plans to spend a weekend in NJ to visit some high school friends that I haven’t seen or heard from in years.  A happy reunion, courtesy of that which was ridiculous and frivolous to me only a week ago.

Alright, alright… I get it now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

