A yarnyMarni Shout-Out: Debbie Bliss “Glen”.

Progress!

The Cable Detail Sweater (back), from Debbie Bliss's "Glen" pattern book. Loving the fat cable!

The picture represents about 15% of my finished Cable Detail Sweater.  I’m really enjoying this project, for a few reasons.  Strangely enough, one of those reasons is the fact that this sweater is knit flat, which I haven’t done in a while.  I do love the immediacy and convenience of knitting sweaters in-the-round, but once in a while, I embrace the challenge of assembling the finished pieces and stitching everything up.  It’s been said before – more gracefully, I’m sure – and I completely agree:  if you’re willing to spend the time to perfectly follow a pattern and match your gauge, why ruin it with shoddy finishing?  I consider it a necessary skill; it’s not exactly “fun,” but when I’m done, and my FO looks fab… well, there’s no better feeling, y’know?

I really like this yarn, too.  Debbie Bliss Glen is a medium-to-bulky, single-ply, heathery/marled yarn made up of 30% fine alpaca, 30% merino, and 40% acrylic.  I’m not a big fan of acrylic yarn, but… I’m making an exception here, because it’s really soft, really warm, wonderfully squishy and springy, and really lovely to knit with.  I’ll probably have to wear a T-shirt or something underneath the finished product since my skin’s pretty sensitive, but from the feel of the knitted portion above, it should be pretty comfy next to the skin.  Each skein has subtle shading, as you can sort of see above, so when starting a new skein, I’m trying to match the shading so I don’t get any harsh color changes.  So far, so good…

… and speaking of “so far, so good,” I haven’t had any issues with the pattern.  Why is this noteworthy?  The Type A, analytical knitter in me craves 100% clarity in her patterns, but this is seldom granted.  I’m productive and elated at 90% clarity, pretty happy at 80%, perturbed but determined at 70%, and… well, let’s just say no sir, not at all happy at anything less than 60%.  This pattern is rated, so far, at a strong 95% clarity.  I “get” the vast majority of the pattern, but there’s 1 or 2 places where I’ll just have to… punt.

Ok, gonna get back to the knitting now.  Tomorrow:  register for VKLive!

1 Comment

Filed under Knitting, Yarn

One response to “A yarnyMarni Shout-Out: Debbie Bliss “Glen”.

Leave a Reply

