The 100th Post.

This is my 100th post.  This should be a happy occasion, right?  But I haven’t knit much this week, because I’m not very happy.

I, like so many others, was preoccupied with the horrendous news coming out of Penn State.  Rather than losing myself in my knitting, I spent much of the week lost in either work or online games.  *Shrug*… that’s what I do when I need to escape.

Many of you know that I blog from Central PA, in a city about 3 hours outside of “Happy Valley” (hard to type that without wincing). But what you may not know is that I’m not born-and-bred Central PA – I’m from New Jersey.  And I didn’t attend Penn State for my undergraduate degree – I went to the University of Delaware.  And I’m not a big (American) football fan – college, professional, or otherwise.  So why, then, is the scandal affecting me so much?

Maybe it’s because I’ve lived here in Central PA for just over 10 years now, and while this isn’t my hometown, over time… this became my home.  So when my friends, neighbors, and coworkers are pained by the actions… and inactions… of their hometown heroes, I am, too.

Maybe it’s because I can’t stop thinking of a story my dad told me, about a time when he met Joe Paterno, and was struck by the man’s kindness and generosity.  I don’t think this is any less true today than it was in 1966.  However, this week’s events serve as a reminder that while JoePa is kind, generous, and so much more to so many, he’s also human… and flawed… and prone to mistakes and questionable judgment.

Maybe it’s because my husband is, as I type, on-site and covering all the drama along with his colleagues.  I’ve been glued to my computer reading his blog and Twitter updates, but with the added discomfort of worrying for his safety.

Maybe it’s because I’m a mom.  ‘Nuff said.

It’s really hard to explain, I guess.  And this isn’t going away anytime soon.  So… I guess I’ll do what everyone else is doing, and take it one step, one revelation at a time.  I think I’ll start by getting back to the Lace Jacket after I post this.  I’ll try to, at least.

3 Comments

Filed under Knitting, Penn State

3 responses to “The 100th Post.

  1. I live in another college football town and I cannot imagine how horrendous it would be for this to be happening here. Such a blow to a community when heroes fail. I hope your hubby stays safe. Kudos to the professionals bringing light to the situation without sensationalizing.

  2. Happy 100th post no matter the surroundings!

    And as another, albeit newer, central PA resident I feel very much the same. Really no ties or investment of my own but quite caught up in all of the sentiments from those around me.

  3. Nancy

    Marni, I’m not sure it matters WHERE you live. I have an eleven-year-old son, and the thought that someone could do to someone like him what was allegedly done to the victims in this case, truly makes my stomach turn. Even harder is explaining to this eleven-year-old football fan what happened, what “oral sex” means, and what “penetration” means. Conversations I wasn’t prepared for, but had to have, all the same. You and I have known each other for a long time, and I know why you were affected: you have a big heart, and it’s a sad story.

Leave a Reply

