Daily Archives: November 16, 2011

Two Steps Forward, One Step Back.

I’m making slow progress on the Lace Jacket.

20 rows. *Sigh*

 

Never mind that the pattern is really challenging.  Never mind that I’m not a fast knitter even on easy patterns.  But it doesn’t help when you spend 30 minutes on a row, just to have to un-knit it and do it again.

Half of the "diamond pattern motif". No matter how many times I look at this, all I see is... a bat.

 

Yes yes yes, I know that I’m supposed to weave a lifeline in there somewhere to make the inevitable mistakes a lot easier to deal with.  But actually, un-knitting (aka tinking) isn’t all that scary to me.  It just takes careful attention… and time.  And for lace projects, it takes even more careful attention… and even more time.  That being said, it should be forgiven that over a period of 3 days, I’ve completed… 4 rows.  Four… whole… rows.  Again with the four whole rows.  I think I have to rethink this project as a Christmas gift, and make it more like… a Mother’s Day gift.  Oy.

On A Completely Different Note…

Among all the roles I play, one of my favorites is the role of “volunteer”.  For the past 7 years, I’ve been honored and humbled to count myself among the many, many Highmark Caring Place volunteers.  I’ve met a lot of amazing people through this program, and maybe I’ve even provided some support to those who attended the sessions… at least I hope I have, even in some small way.  Supporting grieving children and their families certainly can be daunting, although I can honestly say that we spend more time laughing than crying when we’re all together.

Tomorrow is Children’s Grief Awareness Day, always held on the Thursday before Thanksgiving – a day to help raise awareness of the need for support of children grieving the death of a loved one, and to let these children know they’re not alone.  My family and I will be wearing blue to commemorate the day… I hope you’ll join us.

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Knitting, Volunteerism