Starting To Skew.

Where does the time go?  I don’t mean to be away for so long, but life is definitely getting in the way of my blogging efforts lately.  Nothing bad, thank goodness… just busy with work and daughter and stuff.

I started Skew a few days ago, after re-reading The Magic Loop by Bev Galeskas, which I had bought at Knitter’s Day Out.  It took me a few tries to get the cast-on and the first few rounds of the toe going, and then it took me a couple of days to convince myself that what I was doing was actually correct.  Because if you look at the work, it looks kinda… off.

Ummmmmmm... what IS this?

But then you try it on, and you realize that you’re actually getting it:

Skew_foot2

Well look at that... ! And it fits!

As for the Magic Loop method… I admit, I kinda like it.  But I’m not sure if I like it enough to give up my DPNs.  We’ll see what happens after I finish this project.

Meanwhile, I’m waiting for my Cider House Rules Vest pattern to arrive.  I’d be thrilled if it came today, but not surprised if it comes next week.

Busy day ahead of me today… among my Things To Do:  spend a little time watching (and counting) birds. Why, you ask?  That’s a blog post for another day, but mainly, this weekend is the Great Backyard Bird Count, a great way to spend some time away from the TV, computer, and all things indoors.  Betcha didn’t know I had other interests besides yarn… ?

2 Comments

Filed under Knitting

2 responses to “Starting To Skew.

  1. Very cool! That’s so funny that trying the sock on puts everything into context. Great yarn – can’t wait to see this progress.

    Definitely feel your pain about restarting socks with the Magic Loop method multiple times. Overall I like the method too.

  2. Well I goofed the bird count oops. I have the best of intentions and I see that we have something else in common. I count birds for my alma mater! Life can get in the way for sure! My blogging muse has been on vacation. Hope I can get it back soon.

Leave a Reply

