(Not) Keeping Up.

I’m here, I’m here… 

I’ve been shaken out of my bloggy slump by Susan, who asked:

“Are you the person blogging From the Farm show last January?  If so, will you be back this year?”

Susan, thank you for asking, because I’ve been thinking about the Sheep To Shawl Contest quite a bit lately.  If all goes as I expect it to, yes, I’ll be back at the Farm Show this (next) year.  And, I’ll be covering the Kid’s S2S Contest as well as the adult version, with pictures.  I’m hoping that Santa reads this and DECIDES THAT I’M WORTHY OF A NEW CAMERA THIS YEAR (subtle, aren’t I?).

So… how’s everyone doing?  How’s everyone’s knitting/crocheting/quilting/spinning/fiber-arty things going?  Mine’s going well, thank you, although a bit slowly lately.  Between a hectic work schedule and a hectic 3-year old, I’ve been… gasp!… too tired to knit much.  But… I did finish Wrapper’s Delight:

Want a lot of compliments?  Knit this cardi.

Want a lot of compliments? Knit this cardi.

And a pair of awesome fingerless mitts:

I looooove Noro Kureyon.

I looooove Noro Kureyon.

Right now I’m working on a pair of socks for myself.  I’m trying out the Cat Bordhi method of knitting socks on 2 circular needles.  It’s okay… I’m not completely sold on the method, although I do love being able to try on the sock as I go along.  It’s nice learning something new, but… what can I say, I love my Lantern Moon Sox Stix – they’re just so comforting to work with somehow.

So, wanna hear a funny story?  

About a month or two ago, I was contacted by Jaime Guthals, segment producer for Knitting Daily TV.  They were doing a new segment on the show where they talk about a published pattern, then show examples of it by real-world knitters (different colors used, different dimensions, different yarn used… you get the idea).  The first pattern they were featuring was Eunny Jang’s Spectrum Scarf, and would I be so kind as to send mine along to the studio for them to use on the show (ARE YOU KIDDING???  YES!!!)?  But first I had to get the scarf back from my project manager, who, as you may recall, is giving it to his wife as a Christmas gift.  Bob was happy to oblige, and now… I’m a Famous Knitter!  The episode is supposed to be airing in January, so if you’re lucky enough to get Knitting Daily TV on your local PBS station (I’m not, ironically), tune in and check out my/Bob’s wife’s scarf.

Leave a comment

Filed under Knitting

Leave a comment